Person NameRoyal Burgh of Wigtown; 1292-1975
ActivityWigtown is said to have been a royal burgh from the time of David II. In 1341 it was granted to the Flemings from whom it passed to the Douglas family. Following the forfeiture of the Douglases in 1455 it reverted to the Crown and a new grant was made by James II in 1457 and confirmed by the Scottish parliament in 1661. In 1662 Charles II confirmed and extended the burgh rights in a new charter.
Seaport and county town of Wigtownshire and seat of a sheriff court.
In the 19th century the town was governed by a provost, 2 baillies, a treasurer and 15 councillors.
Situated on the west shore of Wigtown Bay. National Grid Reference NX4355
A town, until 1975 in the county of Wigtown and a royal burgh until 1975. A small burgh from 1930 until 1975.
Wigtown united with Whithorn, Stranraer and New Galloway to return one MP to the British parliament until teh Redistribution Act of 1885 when its parliamentary representation ws merged with the county.
Corporate NameRoyal Burgh of Wigtown
Add to My Items