Person NameFabian Society; 1884-
ActivityThe Fellowship of the New Life had been meeting since 1883. In 1884 they became the Fabian Society. The Fabian Society was established in 1884 as a socialist society committed to gradual rather than revolutionary reform. The society takes its name from the Roman General Qunitus Fabius who was famous for his strategy of delaying battle until the right moment. From its formation the Society has been characterised by its passionate commitment to social justice and a belief in the progressive improvement of society. Amongst the early members of the Society are George Bernard Shaw, Sydney and Beatrice Webb, Emmeline Pankhurst and H.G. Wells. In 1894 the Fabian Henry Hutchinson killed himself and left £10.000 to the Society for 'propaganda and other purposes'. The Society used this money to establish the London School of Economics. In 1900 the Fabian Society joined with the trade unions to form the Labour Party and has been affiliated to it ever since. In 1907 the first Fabian summer school was held offering walks, talks and lectures and from 1911 overseas schools were held and overseas tours to the Soviet Union, India, Greece, Zimbabwe, Yugoslavia and China. In 1913 the Society established 'The New Statesmen' as the national voice of Fabianism and in 1931 the New Fabian Research Bureau was formed. By 1945 there were 229 Fabian Labour members of parliament. Since the 1997 General Election there have been around 200 Fabian members of parliament in the House of Commons including Tony Blair, Gordon Brown, Robin Cook, Jack Straw and Clare Short.
Corporate NameFabian Society
Add to My Items