Person NameScottish Mountaineering Club; 1889-
ActivityThe Scottish Mountaineering Club was formed in 1889 at the instigation of William W. Naismith. Notable climbers of the club are J. Logan Aikman, Sir Hugh Munro (d 1919), who described and classified mountains, and Reverend A.E. Robertson. From 1890 the Club has published the Scottish Mountaineering Club Journal. In 1990 women were admitted to the Club's membership for the first time. The Junior Mountaineering Club of Scotland was formed in 1925 consisting of two parallel sections, the Glasgow and the Edinburgh sections. The Scottish Mountaineering Club is active in 2002.
Corporate NameScottish Mountaineering Club
Add to My Items