Person NameFalkirk District Council; 1974-1996
ActivityDistrict councils in Scotland were established under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65). They were quite distinct from the district councils which had existed from 1930 to 1975. The Act established a two-tier system of local government with nine regional councils and 53 district councils. Three islands councils (Orkney, Shetland and Western Isles) performed the functions of district and regional councils. District councils were elected in 1974 and acted as shadow authorities until May 1975, when they assumed their full powers. Their main responsibilities were: district courts (under the District Courts (Scotland) Act 1975, c.20), building control, burial and cremation, cleansing, conservation areas, countryside (some regional responsibility), development control, environmental health, housing, leisure and recreation, libraries, licensing, local planning, museums and art galleries (with the regional council), parks and tourism. Falkirk District comprised the former burghs of Falkirk, Grangemouth, Bo'ness and Denny & Dunipace, the former Eastern districts and part of the Central districts of Stirlingshire and a small part of the former West Lothian County. The regional authority for the area of Falkirk District Council was Central Regional Council. Falkirk District Council and Central Regional Council were abolished in 1996 and replaced by Falkirk Council (Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994, c.39) in respect of the area covered by the new Council.
Corporate NameFalkirk District Council
Add to My Items