Person NameGrampian Health Board; 1974-
ActivityGrampian Health Board came into existence on 1 April 1974 as a result of NHS reforms. It was divided into three districts, North, South and West, each with its own District Executive Group. Ten years later, on 1 April 1984, it was reorganised into seven units: Acute Services, Maternity and Child Health Services, Geriatric and Specialist Services, Psychiatric Services, Community Health Services, North and West. The North Unit existed only until the end of 1986 when it was merged with the Community Health Services Unit, and Unit General Managers were appointed to all six units around the same time. At the end of 1989 it was agreed that the Acute Services and Maternity and Child Health Services Units should be merged to form the Foresterhills Hospitals Unit, and by mid 1990 the Geriatric and Specialist and the Community Health Units were already being managed jointly. In 1991 they merged with the Mental Health Services Unit (the old Psychiatric Services Unit, which changed its name in 1984) and the new unit was called Priority Services. From 1 April 1992 this was renamed Grampian Healthcare. The Foresterhills Hospitals Unit became Aberdeen Royal Hospitals Trust at the same date, and a year later both Grampian Healthcare and Moray Health Services (formerly the West Grampian Health Services Unit, formerly West Unit) both became trusts. With effect from 1 April 1999 these three trusts were reorganised into two new NHS Trusts: Grampian University Hospitals NHS Trust, comprising the former Aberdeen Royal Hospitals Trust together with Gray’s Hospital in Elgin, and Grampian Primary Care NHS Trust, the merging of Grampian Healthcare and Moray Health Services (minus Gray’s Hospital).
Corporate NameGrampian Health Board
Add to My Items