Dates -1867
Person NameBanff County Turnpike Trustees; -1867
ActivityTurnpike roads were roads funded by the collection of tolls at toll bars or turnpikes, as they were also known. Local landowners would obtain an act of parliament for specific roads (either existing or proposed). The trustees would be empowered to borrow money, impose tolls, maintain roads and build new ones. The first such act in Scotland was in 1713 but they did not become widespread until the 1750s. A General Turnpike Act in 1831 (1 & 2 Will. IV, c.43) standardised the powers and functions of turnpike trusts. In Banffshire the roads were as follows: Aberlour and Inveravon, Boyndie, Marnoch, Forglen, Eastside Bridge (over the River Deveron at Eastside near Turriff), Portgordon, Fochabers, Enzie, Boat of Bridge, Keith, Boharm, Cullen, Deskford, Botriphnie, Portsoy, Keith and Huntly, and Buchan (which was mostly in Aberdeenshire). They were abolished between 1878 and 1883 when the Roads and Bridges (Scotland) Act 1878 (41 & 42 Vict., c.51) came into force. This Act replaced all the former highway authorities in landward areas, including the turnpike trusts, with a single road trust for each county. Several counties had already formed county road trusts and abolished tolls prior to the 1878 Act: Banff was one of these, abolishing its tolls in 1866.
Corporate NameBanff County Turnpike Trustees
Add to My Items