Person NameBanchory Town Council; 1820-1975
ActivityIn the early 19th century a Town Council was formed by a group of leading Banchory residents. Membership was extended to householders upon payment of two shillings and sixpence, and thereafter upon payment annually of the sum of one shilling. This early Town Council was composed of a provost, dean of guild, baillies and councillors. In 1885, it was created a police burgh in terms of the General Police and Improvement (Scotland) Act 1862 (25 & 26 Vict., c.101). Burgh administration was carried out by a body of elected police commissioners who were responsible for cleansing, lighting, policing and public health. As a result, the early Town Council reconstituted itself in 1889 as a guildry, styled the Managers of the John Watson Guild, with the chair assuming the title of dean of guild. Under the Town Councils (Scotland) Act 1900 (63 and 64 Vict., c.49) the police commissioners were replaced in January 1901 by Banchory Town Council. The Town Council continued to act as the local authority until the Burgh was abolished in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65). Its powers were assumed by Grampian Regional Council and Kincardine and Deeside District Council. These in turn were replaced by Aberdeenshire Council in 1996 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39).
Corporate NameBanchory Town Council
Add to My Items