Person NameRoyal Burgh of Brechin; 1641-1975
ActivityThere was a settlement at Brechin as early as the 10th century as King Kenneth MacMalcolm (971 - 995) founded a church dedicated to the Holy Trinity combined with a Culdee College. Brechin was created a Royal Burgh in 1641 by a charter of Charles II and adopted the General Police and Improvement Act before 1871. It was governed by a Provost, 2 Baillies, a Dean of Guild, a Treasurer, a Hospital Master and 7 Councillors. There was also a body of police commissioners. Brechin was also a parliamentary burgh and along with Montrose, Arbroath, Forfar and Bervie, returned an M.P. to Parliament. Under the Town Councils (Scotland) Act 1900 (63 & 64 Vict., c. 49) the police commissioners were replaced by Brechin Town Council in January 1901. Brechin Town Council was abolished in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c. 65). Its powers were assumed by Tayside Regional Council and Angus District Council. These in turn were replaced by Angus Council in 1996 under the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39).
Corporate NameRoyal Burgh of Brechin
Add to My Items