Person NameRoyal Burgh of Montrose; 1140-1975
ActivityThe Royal Burgh of Montrose was founded as a burgh around 1140 by King David I and has the distinction of being the earliest planned settlement in Scotland. The town was governed by a Provost, three Bailies, a Dean of Guild, a Treasurer, a Hospital Master and twelve councillors. The council also acted as the police commission and in the late 19th century the police force consisted of twelve men. Jointly with Arbroath, Brechin, Forfar and Bervie, Montrose returned an MP to Parliament. The Burgh Council was abolished in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act of 1973 and its functions were transferred to Tayside Regional Council and Angus District Council. These in turn were replaced by Angus Council in 1996 under the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39).
Corporate NameRoyal Burgh of Montrose
Add to My Items