Person NameRoyal Burgh of Jedburgh; c1296-1975
ActivityIn 1320 King Robert I granted it to Sir James Douglas but by 1424 it had again become a royal burgh. In 1556 Queen Mary gave a charter of confirmation to the town. Descrepancies at elections in the late 18th century deprived the town of its magistrates. In the 19th century it was governed by a provost, 3 baillies, a dean of guild, a treasurer and 9 councillors., who acted as commissioners of police.
Roxburgh was a parliamentary and royal burgh until 1975. It was a police burgh from 1847 and a small burgh from 1930 until 1975.
Seat of the sheriff court and circuit court
County town of Roxburghshire, situated on the left bank of the Jed Water. National Grid Reference NT6520
Burghal status dissolved under Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973
Jedburgh united with Haddington, Dunbar, North Berwick and Lauder to return one MP to the British parliament in the 19th century.
Corporate NameRoyal Burgh of Jedburgh
Add to My Items