Person NameRoyal Burgh of Dumfries; c1186-1975
ActivityConsituted a royal burgh by David I and divided into 4 wards, Dumfries in the 19th century was governed by a provost, 3 baillies, a dean of guild, a treasurer and 22 other councillors. The General Police and Improvement Act of Scotland was adopted prior to 1871 and the magistrates and town councillors acted as commissioners of police. The police burgh of Maxwelltown was joined to Dumfries in 1931.
Situated in the South-west border of Dumfries-shire on the left bank of the River Nith. National Grid Reference NX9776
Ceased to exist as a burgh in 1975 following creation of new district and regional councils. It became the Dumfries District of Dumfries and Galloway Regional Council.
Royal and parliamentary burgh and only large town of any extent in south west Scotland. Chief town in Dumfries-shire and seat of sheriff court.
Corporate NameRoyal Burgh of Dumfries
Add to My Items