Person NameAberdeen County and Municipal Buildings Commissioners; 1866-
ActivityThe Aberdeen County and Municipal Buildings Act 1866 (29 & 30 Vict., ch.civ) was obtained in order to give the Town Council the powers to erect ‘a new Court House, Town House, County and Town Hall, Police, and other County and Municipal Buildings and Office for the County and City of Aberdeen; and for other purposes’. It followed on from earlier acts, mostly concerning the building of the House of Correction in the town, dating from 1802 to 1862. The Town Council argued that the present buildings for the housing of records and for the meetings and business of the council and the sheriff court were insufficient and incommodious, and that it would be to the advantage of all the bodies concerned if the new buildings were all on the same site: it submitted plans, and suggested that the old buildings and materials should be sold to go towards the cost not only of building the new premises, but also of maintaining and repairing them in the future. Land had already been chosen at the east end of Union Street, near the old Market site. The Act appointed commissioners to see to the project: the Convener and Sheriff of the county, the Lord Provost of Aberdeen, the members of parliament for the city and the county, six persons elected from the Commissioners of Supply, six from the Town Council, and three from the Police Commissioners, all to be re-elected each year. Once the buildings were completed, the Commission was to allocate the rooms to the use of the various bodies concerned. From then on, the Commission was to see to the lighting, heating, management, cleaning, upkeep and repair of the buildings, raising money as it had before as rogue money.
Corporate NameAberdeen County and Municipal Buildings Commissioners
Add to My Items