Person NameAssociation of Highland District Councils; 1975-1996
ActivityThe Association of Highland District Councils was formed in 1975. Its members were the District Councils of the Highland Region; Badenoch and Strathspey, Inverness, Lochaber, Nairn, Ross and Cromarty, Skye and Lochalsh and Sutherland, which were formed under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973 (c. 65). The Association continued until local government reorganisation in 1996 whereby Regional and District Councils were abolished under the terms of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act, 1994 (c. 39) and the Highland District and Regional Councils were replaced by Highland Council.
Corporate NameAssociation of Highland District Councils
Add to My Items