Person NameDundee; United Original Secession Church; 1842-1956; Dundee
ActivityThe 1690 Revolution Settlement secured the Presbyterian Church of Scotland as the established church. Landowners in the form of heritors had a duty to maintain ecclesiastical buildings and had the power to choose ministers. There was a body of people who thought that the parishioners should choose the minister. The 1731 General Assembly restricted the choice of a minister to the heritors and elders of a parish. In 1733, Ebeneezer Erskine (1680-1754) a minister in Stirling who had campaigned against this decision was suspended by the General Assembly. He left to form his own secession church which gained much support in lowland areas. In 1744 the secession church split because of the burgess oath which obliged potential burgesses in some royal burghs to pledge support for the established religion, that is the Church of Scotland. This led to the formation of the Burgher and Antiburgher churches. These split again into the Old Lights and the New Lights.The United Original Secession Church was formed in 1842 by the union of various Secession Churches which shared support for the constitutional links between the church and the state and the obligation of national covenants. There were proposals for a union with the Free Church in 1851. In 1852, following a declaration by the Free Church to the effect that it espoused the Second Reformation, most Original Secession ministers joined the Free Church. In 1956 the Original Secession Church joined the Church of Scotland.See 'Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology' edited by David F. Wright, David C. Lachman and Donald E. Meek, 1993.
Corporate NameUnited Original Secession Church
Add to My Items