Person NameNine Incorporated Trades of Dundee
ActivityThe Nine Trades of Dundee consisted of the incorporations of Baxters (bakers), Cordiners (shoemakers), Glovers (originally Skinners), Tailors, Bonnetmakers, Fleshers, Hammermen, Brabeners (weavers) and Waulkners (cloth fullers, who were later joined by the Litsers (dyers). The aims of the trade incorporations were to protect members in work, in sickness and old age and to maintain a high standard of craftsmanship. The trades were incorporated by a 'Seal of Cause' which was a letter from magistrates and council under the town’s seal authorizing a society to appoint a deacon and pass rules and regulations which members must obey. The deacon was the ruling official of each trade. The boxmaster was second in importance, but this office did not become common until the seventeenth century. The boxmaster looked after a trade’s box in which all fees, fines and artifacts were deposited. The clerk had to be literate and was responsible for all entries in the lockit book or sederunt books. Lockit books were locked books containing the secrets of a trade, such as the rules and regulations and names of the masters. The Incorporations often employed a lawyer as their clerk. Each seal of cause contained a condition that a trade should support an altar with a chaplain for services. Members paid entrance fees and subscriptions. Fines were also paid for offences such as bad workmanship, adultery or fornication. In 1846 an Act of Parliament abolished the trading rights of the Royal Burghs of Scotland, trade incorporations and merchant guilds. After this Act, the nine trade incorporations of Dundee functioned more as social clubs than charitable or protective institutions.See 'The Nine Trades of Dundee' by Annette M. Smith.
Corporate NameNine Incorporated Trades of Dundee
Add to My Items