| Administrative History | The Aberdeen Hillwalking Club began as the Telephone and Post Office Hiking Club in the 1930’s. The Club was disbanded at the outset of the Second World War until a post war revival in 1946. The club was open to telephone communication and postal staff, although relatives and friends of staff members were permitted to attend club walks and activities. Pre-war the club attracted mainly postal staff, with numbers of telephone staff increasing with the 1946 revival. |
| Custodial History | Material collated and maintained by club secretary Heather Eddie since 1995. Material then passed to Frank Kelly, President of Aberdeen Hillwalking Club in April 2024. |
| Description | This collection contains a broad range of material representing multiple functions of the organisation.. This includes the Club constitution and subsequent revisions, committee and AGM minutes, financial accounts, membership documents, various correspondence, publicity materials such as newsletters and content for magazine articles along with extensive dcoumentation relative to the planning, development and experience of walking activites , annual walk programmes and scrapbooks containing photographs and descriptions of walking routes. |